Government MPs walk out of Parliament

October 8, 2019

As a result the UPFA attended the beginning of the Parliament session today and then staged a walk out.UPFA MP Mahindananda Aluthgamage said that the UPFA will boycott sessions today and will decide its next step before Parliament convenes again. (Colombo Gazette) The UPFA however objected to the nominations saying it wants seven members in the PSC.The UPFA says it should have the majority in the PSC as it is in the Government. Parliament members of the Government, mainly consisting of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA), walked out of Parliament today in protest over the actions of the Speaker.UPFA MP and Housing Minister Wimal Weerawansa said that the UPFA has decided to walk out of Parliament as they are not in a position to accept Speaker Karu Jayasuriya’s actions. Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today appointed 12 members to the Parliament Selection Committee (PSC) which included five members of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA). The Speaker also named five members from the United National Front (UPF) and one each from the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) and one from the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *